Image result for money sign

I have just received word back from ATCC regarding my cell lines and the contamination issue I faced. They said they are unwilling to give a refund on my cells because the tests they had previously run showed no signs of contamination. However, they did offer me a 10% discount from the original $492.00 it costs to purchase the cell line. I am going to discuss with Teacher Margaret regarding the state of my project since this will be the third time to purchase cells and roughly a 5 weeks is in not enough time to get cells confluent and run all of the tests I had initially planned. Additionally, it is very frustrating to have ATCC not refund or send me a new cell line since the tests we ran showed no signs of contamination on our part. This was not how I expected my project to be carried out and has been a very difficult and stressful time for me to figure out logistics regarding this project.

After discussing with T. Margaret we have decided that it may be best for me to write out the cell culturing procedures necessary for the NBT-ii cell line should a student wish to continue this project in coming years.

1 thought on “

  1. bessgoldstein

    Dhillon

    I’m sorry to hear about your project. Usually, large biological labs/companies are extremely difficult to work with. I hope your hard work in understanding this process will help students in the future. It was difficult to find your blog post because there is no title or name, but after reading the post I knew it was your project.

    Again, sorry to hear about this frustrating process. We all appreciate how hard you tried

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.