Week 7: Adjusting Expectations

Throughout the two months in which I have been working on my independent project, I have seen it evolve from a naive dream to a concrete vision.  I have quickly learned of the challenges pursuing independent work ensues, and have adjusted my project according to them. The most recent issue came up in a chat with Teacher Deb. We were speaking about the next steps of my project, as I am nearing the end of my research phase.  She knew of my plan to create a documentary style film focusing on the stories of the Syrian refugees I would interview, and raised the concern of where I would find these people in he US.  As many already know, it is not exactly simple for a Syrian refugee to come to the United State— dozens of screenings and vets must take place, giving Syrians a minimum of two years waiting time until they are even allowed to set foot in the country.  Because the Syrian crisis is still such a current issue, many refugees have only just started the process of trying to enter the United States.

where-syrian-refugees-are-in-the-united-states-1445383194242-facebookJumbo-v10.jpg

 

Despite Allentown, Pennsylvania having one of the largest refugee populations in the country, it is still not a substantial enough amount of people to create an entire film around.  Instead, Teacher Deb recommended I expand my vision, and possibly include some refugees from other places in the Middle East.  After all, the refugee crisis is not an issue unique to Syria.  I also know for a fact there are many Iraqi and Pakistani refugees around where I live, making them much more accessible for me to interview as opposed to the Syrians.  While I still hope to interview at least one Syrian refugee, sometimes one just has to accept the challenges and comprise.  However, regardless of who this project ends up focusing on, I can say one thing for certain— it will still make an impact.

Here is the link to the refugee website I’ve been consulting: http://www.rcusa.org

Image Credits: http://www.newsweek.com/where-every-state-stands-accepting-or-refusing-syrian-refugees-395050

1 thought on “Week 7: Adjusting Expectations

  1. Eric Savage

    Emma:

    My name is Eric Savage. I graduated from Westtown, class of 1985. I recently provided free housing in an apartment that I own to Yousef Abbara the asylee that you mentioned in an earlier blog. I was searching his name and stumbled upon your project. I don’t know whether you were successful in interviewing him, or even if he’s interested in being interviewed, but if you haven’t, I’d be happy to facilitate an introduction. Anyway, good luck. I submitted my email address.

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.